Newport dominate but draw record edges nearer

With the temperature just nudging above freezing point, the Port welcomed Bournemouth for their first home match in five weeks. Unfortunately despite looking the better side for most of the match, a late goal denied Newport a home victory.

Newport made one change from the side that beat Whitchurch a fortnight ago with Scott Sampson replacing Mark Taylor.

Newport kicked off attacking the Allotment end and looked the livlier team at the start. Their first chance came after five minutes from a corner with Scott Sampson just heading wide. Shortly afterwards the same player was in action at the other end when a last ditch tackle prevented Stepan Neronski from having a clear shot at goal.

Newport took the lead on 31 minutes when Darren Powell from midfield slipped the ball through to Jared Wetherick who jinxed by a few defenders before slotting the ball past Nick Thomas from about 12 yards.

Newport had looked the better side in the first half and although Bournemouth had some good moves up to the penalty area, the home defence was looking comfortable.

Half Time Newport 1 Bournemouth 0

Early in the half, Bournemouth came close to equalising when a shot from Dave Ewin struck the underside of the crossbar before being scrambled clear for a corner. From the corner the ball went directly into the net but the referee disallowed the goal for holding.

Both teams made substitutions on 64 minutes. Newport brought on Josh Maloney for Joe Butcher whilst Bournemouth replaced Ali Fakhal with Taylor Leonard. Bournemouth’s second substitution saw Pablo Martinez give way to Rob Head.

The Bournemouth equaliser came on 76 minutes when Dave Ewin scored with a glancing header from a corner that was needlessly given away.

As Jared Wetherick raced towards goal he was fouled by Ryan Reeves, the decision being given by the assistant referee. For his protestations towards both officials, Ryan Reeves was shown a red card leaving Bournemouth to play the last ten minutes a man short. For the final few minutes, Newport sacrificed defender Liam Newbold for Tom McInnes as they sought a winner but to no avail.

Newport remain tenth and Bournemouth remain eighteenth.

Full Time: Newport 1 Bournemouth 1

NEWPORT: Gary Streeter, Liam Newbold (Tom McInnes), Keelan Sainbury, Lewis Wright, Ollie West, Scott Sampson, Darren Powell, Liam Triggs, Jared Wetherick, Connor Kelly, Joe Butcher (Josh Maloney).

BOURNEMOUTH: Nick Thomas, Pablo Martinez (Rob Head), Kevin Foreman, Chris Spears, Ryan Reeves, Chia Khider, Dave Ewin, Ali Fakhal (Taylor Leonard), Sami Makhloufi, Stepan Neronski, Manny Ohameje

Referee: Michel Fogt                         Attendance 82