AFC Bournemouth out class The Port

For the first time in their history Newport hosted a side from the F.A.Premier League in a competitive match, albeit Bournemouth opted to play players from their under 18 and development squads.
Illness prevented co manager Gary Streeter from participating in the match and Connor Kelly was cup tied as Newport had a much changed side for the second round of the Hants Senior Cup.

Newport kicked off attacking the Allotment end. Bournemouth created the first chance inside three minutes when Charlie Seaman fired in a curling shot from 20 yards that Andrew Payne comfortably caught.

The opening half hour was played mainly in the Newport half although the defence, aided by some good blocking tackles, was seldom troubled

Bournemouth took the lead on 34 minutes when Spike Pearce conceded a penalty and Mikael Ndjoli placed it low to Andrew Payne’s left. Newport immediately made a substitution when Keelan Walsh who picked up an injury was replaced by Alex Harmer.

Newport were reduced to ten men when Emerson Tattersall was shown a red card for a tackle from behind.

Bournemouth,s second goal came in stoppage time and the scorer was again Mikael Ndjoli. This time he ran at the defence and his innocuous shot beat Andrew Payne at the far post.

Half Time: Newport 0 AFC Bournemouth 2

It didn’t take Bournemouth long to take advantage of an extra man. Mikael Ndjoli completed his hat trick on 53 minutes when he picked the ball up near the bye line, shrugged off a couple of Newport tackles and from an acute angle slotted the ball into the net. On 59 minutes Andrew Payne could only watch as a 15 yard shot from Charlie Seaman rattled the post

The fourth and fifth goals came within a minute of each other and both were scored by Mikael Ndjoli. The fourth was a mix up in the Newport defence and the fifth was a shot cutting in.

Jake Scrimshaw scored the sixth with a shot from outside the penalty area.
Newport brought off Lewis Wright and Aidan Sainsbury to be replaced by Darren Powell and Martin McDonough. Bournemouth brought on all three substitutes simultaneously.

In the final quarter of an hour, the Newport defence contained the Bournemouth attack but throughout the match, Jordan Holmes had little to do in goal.

Final Score: Newport 0 AFC Bournemouth 6


Andrew Payne​ Jordan Holmes
Will Quigley​ Charlie Seaman
K Walsh​(A Harmer)​ Connor Morrison
A Sainsbury(M McDonough) Sam Sheering
Spike Pearce​ Tyler Cordner
Scott Sampson​ Shane Hobson
Lewis Wright​(D Powell)​ Frank Vincent
Mark Taylor ​Nnamdi Ofoborh
Josh Younie​ Mikael Ndjoli
Charlie Urry​ Antonio Diaz
Emerson Tattersall​ Gavin Kilkenny
Ryan Glover
Jake Scrimshaw
Dinesh Gilleia

Referee: James Robinson ​Attendanc138