Club History

The club was formed in 1888, and in 1898 became founder members of the Isle of Wight League.The club went on to win the league championship four times before joining the Hampshire League in 1927.The club remained in the Hampshire league until 1986 when they joined the Wessex League on its formation. A second-place finish in 1990 saw them promoted to the Southern League, initially in the Southern (later renamed Eastern) Division. In 2001 they were promoted to the Premier Division after winning the Southern League east division but were relegated straight back again.

The club started to struggle financially and in December of the 2003–04 season the club was placed in administration. For the 2004–05 season the club was moved into the Isthmian League Division One. The following season they finished in a relegation position but were spared the drop due to Banstead Athletic‘s resignation from the league. Due to another reorganisation of the National League System, they were moved back to the Southern League, playing in Division One South and West for the 2006–07 season.[3]

In 2008 ownership of the club was fully transferred to the supporter’s trust. The club was relegated back to the Wessex league at the end of the 2007–08 season after finishing bottom of Division One South and West of the Southern league. The club has since remained in the Wessex League Premier Division.